Is it possible to cheat with farming by stopping and starting again?

Maybe this has already been answered or discussed but I couldn’t find any thread about it.

What happens if I farm and fill up say 2 TB of disk space. Then I have earned a certain amount of safecoins. And then (hypothetically :slight_smile: ) I shut down the farm, delete all the data on the disk and register a new farm and start over with 2 TB free disk space again. Is that possible?

No, this is not how things work. If you connect to the network as a Vault and your drive get’s filled with 100GB. You didn’t earned anything. Only when someone requests a file (does a GET) and your Vault serves some chunks out of your Vault, a farming attempt is done. So you only get paid for delivering chunks out of your Vaults, not for filling your drive.

6 Likes

Ah, clever. Thanks, I’m still learning how it all fits together.

3 Likes

Also, to start you are less trusted. So while off/on vaults can still earn, you’ll do better the longer you can stay online.

3 Likes

So, if I understand it correctly, cheating is prevented by: In order to maximize my farming (given constant bandwidth) I need to have as many chunks stored as possible and keep my farming online all the time (temporary disconnects are ok since if my farm has a high ranking it will quickly regain it). The more chunks I have stored the more chance of my farm getting GET requests and thereby larger chance of earning safecoins.

1 Like

The details are not finalised, so maybe, but the aim is to reward good farmers - in a way that maximises the number of small vaults using existing resources (amateurs & ordinary users) - and penalises behaviour that doesn’t help the network.

1 Like

@Anders Have a read of this thread, while from May this year it does outline the change to non-persistent vaults being the preferred operation of the network for security reasons.