What happens if people get new hard drives or MaidSAFE changes their algorithms?

So I’ve been talking to many people I know around me about Maidsafe, showing them the network and asking what they think of it.

One of my friends is an SEO and was talking to me about how google is literally trying to take control of the internet with how it’s search engine has become set up. After showing him videos on Maidsafe, he asked me:

“What happens if a large number of people quit the network all of a sudden?
What about the wear and tear of computers and people needing to buy new hardware?
What happens to the old data that is thrown away? How is it replaced?
Who controls the data when this happens, doesn’t this just shift control of data from Google now to the SAFE Network algorithm(which can be modified by Maidsafe)?”

I’m still learning everything that’s happening with Maidsafe and I’m not heavy in computer science so I wasn’t able to give a great answer, that’s why I wanted to ask the community.

1 Like

MaidSafe can’t modify data. No one can, except when they have the specific permissions to do so. Like when you own the data, or give an application permission to.

Most of your other answers can be answered by ‘redundancy’. Data is stored in more than a single location, so if a large number quits the network, the data will still be on the network somewhere else.

3 Likes

1 Like

So what grants a person special permissions to access this data? Is it their login on the SAFE Network Browser? Where does that “key” get put in to access the data?

When putting data on the network, the user controls what permissions is defined for that data. This means you can give yourself permissions to modify it later on, but could also make sure no one, including yourself, can modify the data after putting it on the network.