Very Impressed with Project but

Since I discovered this project yesterday morning I have spent most of the last 2 days researching this this project and I am very impressed.

However there is one thing that worries me a lot, its the lack of a clear roadmap including DATES.

I can see the roadmap on the main site but it really does not have any detail, I also found a thread from 2014 with a roadmap to launch which seems to show that the project is much delayed. Before I retired I worked as an IT project manager for 30+ years an so I understand the problems of running a complex project and I know from bitter experience that things do get delayed, however not having any dates at all is very worrying.

As I said above I am very impressed with this idea to the extent that I am considering purchasing some of the project tokens but I really want to see some more details in particular when will Alpha 4 (vaults) be implemented.

Any info much appreciated and if it is here somewhere and I have missed it please point me in the right direction.

8 Likes

Asking for firm dates in the roadmap for the SAFE project is akin to asking the pilgrims when they will discover California.

5 Likes

Maidsafe does not operate on “dates” because it’s irrelevant to this project. They operate on “valve” time. AKA it’s done when it’s done.

If we put date on it, it would put too much pressure on the devs, and the community. In the end, we would be not satisfied with the work. Therefore putting dates is not the best way to deal issues.

This is the only company that actually done it right. They finish their goals based on the task they written down. Finishing the task is better than finish by the date.

4 Likes

If they are a week away from releasing something they have stated that in development updates before. That’s about the only dates you’ll see given and even then I’ve seen instances where something happened the caused the release to happen a couple days later.