Use-case for Maidsafe in securing PII (link fixed)

Greetings, I have been examining a potential use-case of the Maidsafe network, or a derivative fork, in securing background investigation data by the government. I am not a programmer or coder and thus my understanding of the nuts and bolts is somewhat limited. Nonetheless, I would appreciate the community’s feedback on this idea. Is this possible from a technical standpoint? What are some weaknesses in the proposal? I have provided a link to the paper which is hosted by google. I’m not sure if this is the best method for sharing the paper either, so if you have any recommendation on this as well, please let me know.

Distributed Storage Paper

1 Like

I think a better question would be why does the government need that information in the first place when the owners of that data can store it on SAFE and maintain control of it then create smart contracts and hashes based on it? Why give it to the government in the first place?

1 Like

Good point, Blindsite2k. Unfortunately the government tends to like to keep control of their own pre-employment investigations. While it would be entirely possible for people to store their own personal identifying information on the SAFE network and only allow the government (or any employer) access to it on an as-needed basis, the government would most likely balk at storing their own investigations on it. By their nature, these investigations and judgments contain very intimate personal details, and if they are retained on government servers in the current centralized fashion they will continue to be a risk for any and all government employees.
-To be clear, this proposal is dealing solely with personal information submitted willfully by prospective and current federal employees and contractors in order to obtain a security clearance.