USB sticks and maid safe

Can maidsafe be ran from a USB instead of the pc?

If you are talking about booting from a USB (itā€™s still running on the PC), I guess you can just install the launcher on it. Is that what you mean?

4 Likes

Yes. I know it still runs on the computer and all, but I see a security risk having the safe in program files.I would prefer having safe ran externally with little trace existence being present on system. Im far from an expert but even having it on the pc in programs kinda shows your hand and at that leaves it more vulnerable to attack. Also id like to play around with tails which is a great idea for added security if possible.Or it may cause a security risk. If we could marry the tors to the safe, the safe would increase in speed and availability.

The launcher and vault s/w is just binaries that can be run from the command line. They are not dependent on being ā€œinstalledā€ so should be fine to run from a USB stick.

Of course you need the right version of O/S and later on the location of the vaults files (a config parameter for the vaults) would have to fit into the filesystem structure of the PC/os that you use it on.

3 Likes

[ would have to fit into the filesystem structure of the PC/os that you use it on] I can do that with an external hard drive though correct? I know I cant use a windows safe with a mac.

The vault has a config file that is located with the vault s/w

In the config file you can specify the location of the vault directory where the chunks are stored. So you will be able to specify any drive you wish. The issue might be that one PC might not have that drive in its storage structure, or might call your external drive by a different name/drive letter

1 Like

In another discussion I was also thinking about Tails with a safenet NFS driver so you can mount you SAFE drive as the persistent volume, but such a driver doesnā€™t exist yet AFAIK. So for now I guess you could run the SAFE Launcher on Tailsā€¦?..