This project reminds me of 1994 because

I was presented with an A4 piece of paper which explained the basic html tags by two chaps who had set up a server. They wanted someone to build websites for their clients. I was a keen hobbyist computer game developer acquaintance of theirs with some graphic design skills and in some bizarre way that meant I was a fully qualified website developer! The whole proposal seemed very basic, clunky and hard to understand due to the paradigm shifts involved. I felt the potential more than understood it and it was exciting. I still love developing games as a hobby yet this project and the potential (especially for me with regard to games) is the first bit of technology that feels exciting to me. I felt compelled to share this. Iā€™m not sure why.

32 Likes

Share away :slight_smile: There are a few of us who have similar feelings from past innovations. I too remember '94 and how I felt as it unfolded. And the early Internet before it. And early computers before that!

But donā€™t mention any of this to @neo or weā€™ll never hear the end of it :joy:

13 Likes

You are right about other past innovations. A big one for me was my first computer - a Sinclair ZX81 and the sheer sense of achievement I felt after I had typed in the instructions required to run a Pong clone. That was me hooked. The whole independent/hobbyist game development scene was exciting yet felt very niche. The web was the first time I was involved in something that was actually going to change the way the world works. I get that sense again as I absorb the documentation here. I am an idiot though - I spent all my time on the dev forum, earned basic level, downloaded the SAFE Browser to start playing andā€¦ it turns out I have to be basic level on this forum lol@myself

9 Likes

Still have mine in the closet.

2 Likes