The difference between the Internet and the World Wide Web

Hi SAFERS,

I recently made a post linking in an article I wrote about the SAFE project and how promising it is. I also made a big mistake in referring to the SAFE network as the new Internet, it’s much more a new version of the World Wide Web, a browser on top of the Internet’s network infrastructure. I want others that may be in the same boat as myself to be aware of this, so I thought I would put my hand-up on this one (raised sharply off the mouse), in the hope that others will learn from my boo-boo.

Well, this could actually be the next big thing, as in the Internet 2.0.

I educated myself by reading the link below, which provided a succinct difference between the two. I am not technically aware in this area, so it might have felt like someone scraping a blackboard to the tech savvy on here, please forgive my ignorance.

http://www.differencebetween.net/technology/difference-between-internet-and-world-wide-web/

The Internet is the WWW to the everyday person, so evidently that’s the category I fall under. We pay and talk about the Internet as if it is the WWW, “have you paid the Internet bill yet” - “did you read that on the Internet” - “buy it on the Internet”, and so on, you catch my drift.

So, I hope this reaches someone down the line who has the chance to save a wee bit (picking up the lingo) of embarrassment.

:face_with_raised_eyebrow:

You may be overdoing the embarrassment here. I see SAFE as more new internet than new web.

The web is a particular set of protocols. To start http(s) but some others related to DNS also make it happen. Email has it’s own protocols so is different, though often accessed using the web just to confuse matters. So firstly, there is no clear point of distinction.