Taking decentralized one step further... wireless?

Not completely positive if I’m tagging this in the correct category so please bear with me :slight_smile:

I can’t seem to find if there has been any discussion regarding the cross-over/integration with wireless distributed routing protocols?

I’ve been theorizing about a distributed internet for many years and so excited to have discovered this. I’m only an amateur enthusiast but it would seem to that the last remaining step is to undermine the very physical nature of the wired internet. In dense urban environments you could create freely accessible systems that require no telecom. Just simply connect to an ad-hoc mesh network and start using your app. Goodbye data plans?

8 Likes

This is something I have been pondering at too, although nothing significant has come up yet.

3 Likes

I actually discovered maidsafe because I began doing research into the feasibility of creating a distributed wireless internet with some crude combination of ad-hoc routing (like BATMAN WikiStart - Open-Mesh - Open Mesh) and distributed DNS (ala something like Namecoin).

The idea was to spawn it in urban environments with high density of wireless signals where it could be successful in providing the infrastructure for social network applications (messaging etc.) that are anonymous, always-on, and free to access for life. All you need is an AP - no more paying for internet.

Anyway I’m no an expert and would love to hear what some of the smart people working on this project think about this general idea etc.

6 Likes

@nkkarpov the category seems appropriate. It you search for meshnets you’ll find some discussions have taken place along these lines. It is indeed a logical and desirable direction.

3 Likes

@happybeing thanks for the tip, here’s a few of the threads I found (listed below).

I see a lot of arguments about how the “ultimate dream” is not possible due to bandwidth/latency essentially. Here are my thoughts…