Synology on testnet/fleming

Hi guys,

Given that a testnet (and hopefully a bit later Fleming) is around the corner. I want to start considering to use my synology server to start farming (or what do we call it these days?). Just to see if I can get it to work.

I’m no coding guru, my background is in Finance but I’ve been working a lot with big data the last years. So I’ve learned to use Python, Spark (not relevant in this case :stuck_out_tongue:) and a bit of CLI.

Is it possible for someone with that level of knowledge to setup farming on a synology station? Has anybody else tried it already?

2 Likes

If your synology supports docker images someone may come along and create a docker image for us.
:slight_smile:

It should be possible eventually.

trying to repurpose an older synology (ds213+) which has a freescale processor. I don’t think it supports docker for that model.

Since it doesn’t have Docker capability, it’d probably be easier to setup a low power PC using extra hardware you have around, or something like a Raspberry Pi, then mounting the space from the Synology on that to utilize it.

3 Likes

Gonna try to setup docker on the synology to see if i can get it to work. Otherwise probably gonna setup an old pi (B) i have lying around

1 Like

Not related to farming…
… but wanted to say I discovered that VS Code on raspbian on a pi is amazing.
Raspberry pi 4, a remote digital ocean instance and a couple of monitors really lowers the entry cost for
anyone wanting to code.

3 Likes

I checked, quite a few versions of synology do not support docker (only + versions mostly). I tried to manually install it but given that its a freescale processor it doesn’t work.

Synology is one of the biggest homeserver brands so it might make sense to take a look at how we can unlock farming for systems that do not support docker. would be a big shame to miss out on all that available storage because of missing docker support