Some questions about XOR

Trying to get my head around the basics of Maidsafe. I’m not good at math, not a programmer, but David is helping in a very good way with this article:

Here are my questions.

1. In the article it’s said that users connect to 16 nodes. On an ip-level I’m only directly connected to 1 hop, is that right?
  2. If I connect to on of the 4 closest nodes, the data goes through 1 or more hops, and these hops can’t see my request or communication with the other nodes. Is that true?
  3. If so, we can call the hops a sort of Proxies, they only see gibberish data coming in and out? Is that correct?
  4. Are Hops different from other users? Or am I a hop as well when I connect to the network?
  5. The more hops, the slower the data goes from node to node. Is that true?
  6. Why the use of a XOR-network? Are these networks used for other purposes as well? Is it done so the 4 closest nodes don’t know the ip-adresses of the other nodes they’re close to?
  7. As a normal Maidsafe user, how much ip-connections do I have? I know Bitcoin is something like 8.
  8. Is there any difference with XOR used for encryption?

Hope someone can help me out to get some more knowledge about Maidsafe. Really like the idea!

1 Like

Cheer hope this helps.

1: Yes you are right
2: Other nodes will see your anonymous ID but not know where it is (its anonymous and unpublished) but not your IP info.
3: Yes this is more accurate (not completely gibberish, but the point is well made)
4: Yes each id see’s a different network and different hops
5: Yes each hop slows down the data slightly, although we do a passthrough thing where data is transmitted as fast as we can. i.e. in send/ack we send the data then check it want through the chain OK, but send it first.
6: XOR is the basis of Kademlia like DHT’s and provides some nice features like increasing knowledge per hop etc.
7: A client will have 4/8 connections and a vault (farmer) 64 connections (all low resource udp type)