Serverless is eating the stack and people are freaking out — as they should be

Just finished reading this article and felt it contained a lot of relevant information to this project even though AWS Lambda was referenced a lot.

**Wasn’t positive about putting it in the “Press” category but did so until I or someone else came up with a better classification.

5 Likes

The word ‘serverless’ is confusing here. It doesn’t mean there are no servers, just that developers don’t need to worry about provisioning them in order to run their code as that’s all done automatically. It’s an abstraction, and nothing to do with being decentralised. Interesting stuff nonetheless.

I understand it has nothing to do with decentralization. I was referring to the development aspect. I guess I should have included that in the initial posting.

1 Like

Yes I agree with that.

1 Like

The last couple of lines really jumped out at me “Because really, at the end of the day, as a developer I don’t care about Lambda, right? I mean, I have to care right now because it’s the layer in which I work, but if I can move one layer up where I’m just writing business logic and the code gets split up appropriately, that’s real magic.”

2 Likes

“I believe there is also a missing piece of the market for a Redis-style serverless offering, something that maybe even speaks Redis commands but under the hood is automatically distributed and scalable.”

I agree… thankfully, we all know something which can fill that hole! :wink:

FaaS is great at removing the management of the infrastructure. It feels like docker containers may be better in this integrated environment than stand alone.