Safecoin Logo License

I’ve just been getting round to looking at the best license to use for the safecoin logo. I would personally prefer an open content license that enables free access, use and modification. It seems that Creative Commons are most widely used and most understood. There are a couple of good resources that help to pick through the options, the main creative commons website provides a guide and the Australian branch of the same organisation has produced a flow chart.

The most permissive (which I like) is the Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International that ensures all adaptations of the the artwork must be provided under the same license, enables a remix of any part of the design (even commercially). It would be good to hear what you guys think?

9 Likes

The CC BY-SA 4.0 license seems like a good choice to me.

Although I’m no expert on content licenses, it seems like that license would have the widest recognition and compatibility—and is similar in spirit to the GPLv3, as chosen for the software side of MaidSafe.

Wikipedia seems to still be using CC BY-SA 3.0, so I’m not sure if that’s because 4.0 is still relatively new, and they haven’t had time to migrate to it yet—or if there are perhaps any perceived disadvantages to 4.0. I’d be curious to know the opinions of anyone else here with more knowledge and understanding of the matter.

1 Like

Sounds like a 180 degree flip from your previous stance on establishing brand recognition.

Not at all @chrisfostertv. As I was saying previously, I would like this community to always present a consistent brand identity to the community, but I can’t control that and any attempt to try and do so would be futile. This license reflects that stance.

2 Likes