Safechain - A simple "transaction chain" for SAFE

No I’m not a coder, but inspired by topics from @Seneca I would like to show you a simple idea for a “transaction chain” on SAFE. It doesn’t have to be in the core code and could run as an App on SAFE. So what should it do?

Transactions/contracts
The basic idea behind a blockchain is a ledger with all transaction/contracts visible and accountable by all. This means every user is able to check all the transactions an agree on the outcome. Normally every chain contains “blocks” where miners try to mine a block by altering a nonce and create a hash with an x-number of zero’s as the Proof Of Work (POW). There are some cons to this approach. Transactions take at least the time of a block to become valid and miners use an extreme amount of energy and (almost) useless POW to mine a block. And when the number of transactions is low, you still need to create blocks and do the POW. So, how could we work around this problem?

Treat every transaction as a block
Whenever a transaction comes in, miners should be able to do a simple POW to make the transaction valid as fast as possible. We don’t create blocks to keep the “transaction chain” as small as possible, so when no transactions are done we don’t do any POW. There is a little con to that, we miss the timestamp.

Bringing it all together
So, how can be achieve these goals on SAFE? First of all, as @Seneca showed in his post we can use an tag type to have our own address-range of 512 bits. That are a lot of possible addresses owned or not by a user of the App. Just like with Bitcoin all transaction done with the App are shared with all the users of that App. So what should happen when a transaction comes in?

1. A transaction comes in and is shared with all users of the App.
  2. Every user can decide if a transaction is valid or not. A double spent won’t be allowed for example.