SAFE Search Engine?

SAFE will replace the Web Server, but will it replace a search engine?

Search engines spend all day crawling the web logging and indexing everything it finds. So, when you search something, the search engine uses an algorithm to cross reference its index and serve you the result in a fraction of a second.

Please, correct me if I am wrong, but won’t SAFE still need the likes of Google to perform this task?

3 Likes

What a good idea for an app on Safe. If only I was a developer

1 Like

I am sure there will be a number of search engines developed.

One idea was that when someone builds a web site they submit their site into the index using the search engine APP. Then as people use the search engine that it updates the records rather like Google does when you click on an entry.

So effectively the search APP is run by everybody that uses it removing the need for huge server farm to do the work. The more it is used the more the computing power put behind it.

The data submitted and updated could follow a set format allowing people to use the search APP of their choice. Since no specific entity owns the search data then the APP developer will work on functionality and unique side indexing to give “better” results than others.

6 Likes

I’m no expert on proper search engines (I’m not a programmer at all) but I’m currently working on something very basic that works essentially the way Neo describes, initially just to teach myself a bit of simple programming, and in the hope that it’ll maybe fill in a gap at least during these late stages of the test nets.