Safe Network, Is it a good choice?

Dear Community,

I am a student and I am about to do my thesis, which is basically aiming to put some health data into a blockchain /blockchain similar technology, which may origin from IoT devices or others. Unfortunately, after reading all the different approaches I reached a information overload. I came to the point to say that Ethereum and Maidsafe are the most suitable compared to Storj, Sia and IPFS since those need no peers for validation, enable offline sharing as well as allow to incorporate smart contracts.

In case you can provide me with general objection regarding usage of Maidsafe feel free to let me know.

7 Likes

SafeNet is definitely going to be a good tool for this, however (as far as I know) this would require each client running in the IOT devices to purchase their own network data which comes with some complexity.

If you’re able to overcome this, having a shared container which each client has “Insert” but not “Read” permission for would allow them to upload their healthdata without exposing the other data within the container to the other clients. I’m not sure if it’s possible to have “Write” permissions without “Read” permissions and perhaps there’s another way to do this. @hunterlester may be able to provide some insight here

2 Likes

Thank you for your fast reply.

1 Like

Yes, Insert only is possible. Look at the email example, where an inbox is designed like this.
Ah, no. Look at @hunterlester’s answer below. Apparently not yet.

Welcome MartinKmer!
I agree that MaidSafe would be a very good choice for this.
As Shane says each device writing to the network will need to have credits for this (in coming releases), which they can get if they are able to do farming (provide storage and bandwith to the network). This shouldn’t be complex per se, but since it is not implemented yet, you would not have definite solutions to look at for your work.