SAFE Network Infrastructure (Security)

I created this post for my own understanding. But maybe it will help others who need a simple explanation to understand the SAFE Network infrastructure. I’ll compare these 3 (ISP, VPN, TOR) to help explain the SAFE Network. I’m not a Network expert, so some of this might be wrong or explained better by someone else.

<-> means your traffic is considered insecure.
<=> means your traffic is considered secure.

ISP : the most common way to access the internet.
(User) <-> (ISP) <-> (Server)

VPN : a private network that encrypts traffic and proxies on your behalf.
(User) <=> (ISP) <=> (VPN) <-> (Server)

TOR : an onion network designed to obfuscate your IP.
(User) <-> (ISP) <-> (Tor Enter Node) <=> (Tor Mid Node) <=> (Tor Exit Node) <-> (Server)

ISP users must trust their ISP & Server.
VPN users must trust their VPN & Server.
TOR users must trust the Exit Node & Server.

Do you see a pattern here?

What makes the SAFE Network so different?

SAFE : a decentralized network of nodes that has no single server.
(User) <-> (SAFE App Launcher) <=> (ISP) <=> (32 Nodes “Close XOR Neighbors”) <=> (SAFE Network) <=> (SAFE Vaults)

• Self Encryption enables ALL data uploaded and downloaded to be read only by the User. The vaults don’t know where it came from. The user doesn’t know where it’s stored.
  • There’s no single server end point. Instead, many vaults look after chunks of encrypted data. If a vault goes offline, it is replaced by another vault.

I purposely focused on the infrastructure, showing how data flows through the system. If you see glass shatter, that is basically what happens when data is uploaded. When it is retrieved, it looks like shattering in reverse.

We use a term called: ANT Technology to describe the process. The SAFE Network of Nodes do lots of little jobs, and cooperate to achieve a bigger picture. But only the end user can see the final result. :wink: