SAFE Network Glossary Project

I’m a trained and experienced editor, including a fair bit of experience with glossaries.

I volunteer to put myself in the cross hairs as the clearing house and coordinator of a glossary for the SAFE network.

I’ll gather terms that need to be defined, get input on definitions, coordinate with @dirvine and others of the Maidsafe team and others in this community to ensure accuracy.

The goal is to have a set of definitions of SAFE network and related terms which are clear, complete, as simple as possible and accurately reflect the realities of the network, so that we can have a central point of agreement as to what we’re talking about, and a way to bring others up to speed.

This may be more ambitions than I’m ready for, but what the heck, I think it will help.

So, here’s the start of the list, please let me know what other terms really need to be understood and agreed upon to help us think and communicate better.

Anyone who wishes to suggest definitions, please do so. I’d much rather have to edit and coordinate a lot of this than have to figure it all out and write it myself.

Farmer
Vault
Node
User
Account
Safecoin
xor

6 Likes

Proof of Resource?

2 Likes

Yeah, the wiki will likely be the central repository for the glossary, as well as maybe a downloadable version somewhere. Wiki is great because it’s an ongoing project.

Yeah, no kidding. Having a functional definition of this will help a lot.

1 Like

After thought, it would better make the glossary part of the MaidSafe System docs. We are still having issues with Wikipedia. :frowning:

4 Likes

Yes I think consolidation is what we want. I vote for system docs, they are versioned and we can go back and check how they developed etc.

3 Likes

Farmer - A person (human who runs a vault process on the network)