SAFE for a neophyte

Hello. First post to the forum. New to this project and fascinated by the concept. However, as someone with zero technical computer knowledge I have a few questions that I’m hoping can be answered.

Will I be able to access websites like Amazon, PayPal, Ebay etc on SAFE? If not, will there need to be new versions of popular sites like these created for SAFE? What about people who run businesses on sites like Amazon or Ebay; what will SAFE mean for them?

Privacy and security seem to be the main selling points for SAFE, but in this selfie age the average person doesn’t seem too concerned with privacy - in fact people seem eager to reveal more and more of themselves to the world. And security concerns are being addressed with innovations like 2-step verification and face recognition (those are two i’m aware of; there are others i’m sure but I’m no computer expert.) What else does SAFE have to sell it to the general public - to people like me? I like the idea of decentralisation, but I also like the idea of Linux; I still quite happily use Windows.

I repeat, I find this concept intriguing. This post is less about being a doubting Thomas and more about addressing gaps in my understanding and perhaps blind spots in the vision of SAFE enthusiasts. All answers/suggestions will be gratefully received.

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum :+1:

SAFE will deliver everything normal servers do as well, so these companies are free to create a version of their website on SAFE as well. If they don’t than you can not find them on this system. But why shouldn’t they? Netflix could offer a discount version of their service as they safe money on bandwidth using SAFE. So they could offer it both ways: on the normal internet and on SAFE at the same time.

More and more people are concerned with privacy. Whatsapp is already quite secure when you message your friends, but still a lot of people move away from them using Signal: