SAFE Art - permanent and unique digital content

So I am an artist, I draw and paint with traditional media when I am not on a computer.

I am very concerned about permanence of art works. In particular, I have a very deep conviction that permanence is a non negotiable condition for art.

These days I have had a revelation, in that the SAFE network will allow the creation of digital files that will be 1) permanent 2) unique because of deduplication, 3) public

In my conception of what art is, this makes it possible for a digital image to become a real work of art, when the “traditional” digital supports only allowed copies, or representations of art works.

The file itself can become art.

Sending this idea here, for what it is worth.

Very deeply inspiring to me.

7 Likes

If you dig around on here, you might find building blocks in development, that would enable a ‘Digital Art Gallery’ complete with ‘Artcoin’ perhaps.

I like your thoughts.

I see Safe as facilitating a store of human wealth for the future.
This could be ‘original’ art, or scientific advances as published papers. Over the long run, these kinds of ‘true’ value things will be referred to a great many times more than one-off things such as the latest celeb gossip.

[sidebar]
I had an idea for an art piece on the nature of reality and digital copies. You could take a portrait photo of a face or maybe a bowl of fruit and print it on a colour printer, scan it and print it, scan the print and repeat lots and lots of times. As you do so the image is likely to deteriorate until it is unrecognisable. Then take each ‘frame’ and convert to a video. No idea what would happen, but would be interesting.

1 Like

Ugh. Sorry, but I hate the idea of altcoins on the Network.

First of all, Coins will be able to work because the developers created special conditions for the treatment of that Structured Data tag_type.