Question about SAFE Network

Hello All,

I just recently found out about SAFE Network and I found the idea very attractive! I am a master student from RMIT who is on the verge of completing the program with my last few courses. After reading through the documents and wiki and programming a bit in rust, I do have few questions on how SAFE Network actually works.

1. After I register, where do launcher store my secret code? In Wiki it is mentioned it won’t be sent to network, but if it isn’t somewhere on the internet…how am I going to access it when I try from different device/country?

2. There is no control over the accounts, means if I manage to forget my secret code…I won’t be able to access my storage forever. But if more people start forgetting their code, or if they do it intentionally… the SAFE Network will be full of trash data that no one will ever use. Won’t this effect its performance?

3. For the countries like China, where they block most international softwares such as Google/Youtube/Facebook, is SAFE Network going to be unusable as well? As for example, I can’t log into SAFE Network from RMIT University’s Wifi Network.

Thanks!

11 Likes

RMIT… ahh fellow Melbournian. Welcome.
Someone will come along shortly to assist you :slight_smile: Just thought i’d say Hi.

2 Likes

Ahhh how lovely and kind of you… I learned a new word Melbournian today too…my English is just keep on improving!

1 Like

Nowhere

The credentials are used to generate the address of your account info and to be able to decrypt it. So your “secret code” is never stored anywhere

Correct[quote=“Iliyar_Yi, post:1, topic:12938”]
But if more people start forgetting their code, or if they do it intentionally… the SAFE Network will be full of trash data that no one will ever use.
[/quote]

There may be developed methods to help with this issue.

As to filling up SAFE, please spend time in the forum searching for this.