Permissions for apps using safe db

I was looking around and it seems like app development is possible using javascript with maidsafe serving add the back-end storage. I’ve also read that there is some similarity between this and firebase or crouchdb?
Both firebase and crouch have a structure allowing for permissions and data structure to be defined at the database level which eliminates the need for middleware. This is essential for the js/db model to work since any client based application is fundamentally insecure… the html and js can be manipulated before sending output to the db making this essential.
I’m wondering how this would be handled in maidsafe? I like the firebase system as it seems you can create object based permissions and data structures. In crouch it ends up being permissions per db. I’m also not sure (as I’m new to the concept) how I could set up something like a simple voting app using a crouchdb sort of backend as a client could theoretically send +1000 votes if they have write permissions and manipulate the js on their end (and they would need to have write permissions). Now I could see me using a boolean value for that case but if the input needs to be anything but boolean there are issues… like a 5 star feedback app.
I’m also wondering how time is kept… so say i want a decay algorithm for values (an example would be a 5 star feedback vote where older votes decay over time to be less relevant)… How would that work?

I’m just trying to grasp these concepts so I can do as others are; developing with a substitute back end. I get that data is secure but my concern is malicious users manipulating shared data from an app.

1 Like

These are issues we (the SAFEpress team) are grappling with at the moment so I don’t expect you’ll get any easy answers just now - though I’d love to be wrong!