Not user friendly?

Hi,

I am wondering how user Friendly Maidsafe really is from a end-user perspective, the people using applications on the network. I have read the systemdocs and it appears to me that the end-user needs Safecoin to use applications? Does that not hinders adoption?

Let me explain with an example. Let’s say I am an app developer and I would like to develop a service where people could upload super secret content that they would like to share with the world, wikeleaks style. Maidsafe would be ideal because of it’s build-in security.

The way I understand it. A user needs to buy Safecoins first in order to upload his super secret content and share that valuable information with the world, is that correct? Also, a user browsing the super-secret-site that would like to download one of these publications, would also need to buy Safecoins?

Maybe I have understood wrong but could someone elaborate and possibly clarify with some real world examples?

Ps. In this example the end-user is an average computer-savvy user who is not a farmer and cannot contribute resources.

Thanks!

Lawk

2 Likes

Well farming is supposed to be very simple and accessible to everyone, even from their smartphones.

So no matter what, everybody can farm and earn some SafeCoin to cover the basic SAFE apps they will want to use. Same with computers

You don’t need Safecoin to consume data (browsing, downloading etc).

For upload yes, so it is a barrier until people are “online”, like the early internet. Wow was that a hassle! But as @whiteoutmashups says, it’s not hard to obtain Safecoin, you don’t have to buy it, just download the client and start farming.

So it won’t be attractive to everyone from day one. Nothing ever is.

6 Likes

Thank you for your reply.

I wonder; how much safecoins does one need to upload a file of 1MB for instance? Or how long does an avarage computer user needs to open it’s client or dedicated some unused space?