New to MaidSafe, have some basic questions about the project

Hi all! After recently discovering MaidSafe, I gotta say, I think this has massive potential! If this succeeds, the impact on society would be huge.

I have a few questions, and I apologize if they’ve been answered a thousand times already (I’ve tried searching). A simple link to the answer would suffice!

1. From what I understand, every piece of data will have 4 copies somewhere on the network. How was this number determined, and can/will it change in the future? How are files allocated to new Farmers who don’t have a history? If I’m a farmer and a chunk of data is on my HD and I go offline, how long will it take the network to detect this and make another copy from other farmers?

2. Will live streaming type apps be possible? For example, a video being livestreamed should make its way through very low-latency connections (so satellite connections, for example, should be avoided). Will it be possible for a user to request such live data (whether videos or for games) to go specifically through low latency nodes? Additionally, will the higher demand for a certain video/stream (such as the Superbowl) be instantly detected to increase availability to everyone?

3. It seems that every application on the network will be app-based, which will be downloaded and will connect to Maidsafe via an API, rather than “browser” based. What languages will be used to support the applications, and where can I go to learn the basics of building applications for MaidSafe? I’m coming from a PHP background (which will likely not be compatible with Maidsafe), so would love some pointers on what I would need to learn to contribute.

4. I ran across the project OpenLibernet in an article, and the last thing I read was that MaidSafe was in talks with integration with them. Are there any updates on this? It seems like a waste so split up work between two projects with essentially the same goals.