Items for early adopters?

I have been stalking maidsafe for the past 2-3 years, and I know several people that are just as hardcore or even more than I am.

Would it be great to have some kind of custom made item just for early adopters that can’t be replicated later in the future. There is a company that makes custom shape USB designs like this one which is very cool.

https://www.customusb.com/custom-shape-flash-drives/

What is your opinion? I wouldn’t mind paying $30-$100 just for one as such kind of cool and rare collection item only for early adopters :D?

9 Likes

We just need to be careful here, lot’s of bad usb hacks going around. I have a usb device that looks like a drive but instead can also run program in background to snoop user data for instance. So these are cool, but security wise they could be seen as us promoting usb, we wont plug in usb devices given to us for instance, just in case.

So I like these, but am wary of USB.

13 Likes

That’s what I thought as well. No reason to use it, but it might end up being a really sick item to keep around.

1 Like

This is why using a USB is an extremely bad idea. It is not just about rubberducky type of hacks, or being careful about autorun.inf. The USB protocol itself can be manipulated to do some really dark magic, even normal USB sticks (the ones you might have in your pocket right now) can get the firmware infected and turn any USB flashdrive into a rubberducky or even turning your USB flashdrive into a network adapter and sniffing your connections or even redirecting your traffic to do an MITM attack. So it is not about being careful about whose USB you allow to use in your computer, but about being paranoid about your OWN USB getting the firmware infected and spying yourself.

The USB is a security nightmare, if you want to learn the details about this, you can see the talk by the guys from srlabs.de:
BadUSB - On Accessories that Turn Evil by Karsten Nohl + Jakob Lell - YouTube