Is it true that Maidsafe isn't likely to launch until the latter end of 2018?

I was looking at the historical road maps and test nets phases and it would seem that we are still a long way off from launch - is it more likely that maid safe won’t launch until 2018 or am i being pessimistic??

2 Likes

It could happen sooner than that, but my guess is that it’ll be a while.

I’m no expert, but I’d imagine data chains & node aging will be big features to implement that take a lot of time & a good few tests to get right.

However, with a running network, there should be visible progress over the coming months as Alpha 2 is prepared & released, then the new browser / authenticator model is tested, and while this is happening data chains & node aging will be progressing.

I think we’re in for an exciting year of visible progress, even if the full network isn’t released until some time in 2018.

1 Like

It’s very hard to say but I think we’re at crucial stage right now which will determine if this is a small number of months away, or somewhat longer.

If Test 12 works as planned, MaidSafe will hammer through data chains, data republishing and node aging, and when that’s working I think we’re very close: test Safecoin, and that is expected to be simple.

So the question is how hard are those things I just mentioned. I think they are relatively straightforward (and I mean that in contrast to an immensely challenging task) compared to routing and all the other bits that, fingers crossed, are falling into place with Test 12. But, they are still quite complex and could throw in a few unexpected challenges and delays. I just think that these issues are unlikely to be on anything like the scale that MaidSafe have had to tackle to date.

So IMO, Test 12 could be the point where things really start to fire and we begin to see progress building up and suddenly…