Integrated Development Environments (IDEs)

Does anyone have a particular IDE that they like? I’m working my way through online courses and exercises in C++ and I find that I like Eclipse very much, but I’m curious if there is anything even better out there.

vim :slight_smile:

Depends on what sorts of projects you aim to work on, and your level of skill as a developer.

Some IDEs have features that you won’t really need until you’ve been developing for awhile. I’ve been developing for only about 2 years, and I used Sublime / Atom for the fist year or so, then started learning vim. My friends insisted it was worth the learning curve despite my stubbornness to make the switch. Once it becomes second nature I have to agree they were right.

If you’re working on mobile projects and “need” an IDE, I think alot of people prefer IntelliJ / Android Studio. I think alot of people treat Eclipse as a legacy IDE. I don’t know of many new developers that are learning in Eclipse…unless they’re under the tutelage of some old school developers.

4 Likes

I used to use Code::Blocks a lot a while ago, but I’ve since migrated to command-line tools and whatever editor is the most convenient to use on a given platform; I would have probably used Code::Blocks for longer, but it took a while to them to add a decent amount of C++11 support in its code completion engine and using a half-broken code completion engine is really annoying. I also still didn’t have much luck building it recently with the latest version of wxWidgets, and sometimes it seems like they’re planning on staying on the ancient 2.8.12 version forever.

That said, I’d still recommend giving it a try if you want in case they’ve improved it a lot since the last time I looked at it.

1 Like

I haven’t programmed in months but… Spacemacs (emacs + vim) is my favorite.

1 Like