Immutable data/apps

Hi,

I’m a newbie to the SAFE technical issues but given the big amount of data I need to read and understand I thought I could post a question instead.

When features are complete:

1. Can I upload something on SAFE that cannot be deleted even by me the original uploader ? (censorship resistant)
  2. Can I make an application that also has the same characteristics meaning once it starts running and given enough coins it continues to run without anyone being able to stop it? (sounds like a doomsday scenario but im not talking about spam bots or terminators)
  3. Can I make an application that has paid subscriptions that keep it running? The model with paid by usage is very communist style, i may want a few customers that want to pay big money because of my killer app service
  4. Does the app need to be open source/viewable to SAFE users?

thanks!

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum, don’t know if I can answer them all.

1. There’s even the question if anything can be deleted at all. I heard rumors about the fact that you can delete your data-atlas so you can never get your file back again. But the chunks might live on the network forever. Don’t know where this idea has gone. I would say it is possible. But I think even with you being able to delete it is censorship resistant. Unless under torture or extreme threads where people force you using violence to log in and delete it. Don’t know if that’s what you mean?

2. You don’t need to pay coins to run an App. So when you create one, you upload it to the network and you and others can use it. People will run your application local on their machines. So it depends on if they do or not how long your App is used. This is quite different from Ethereum where “contracts” run on the miners computer and nobody can stop the network.