Imbalance between PUT-s and GET-s can cause trouble?

I’m a mad photographer. Each month

• I shoot a few Gb of rubbish
  • put them on an HDD
  • never look them up again

LOTs of people do the same.

What if we start uploading to SAFE?
4K RAW video? Full system backups?

• we pay peanuts and only once
  • farmers pay forever (energy, cable, repairs)

Solution?

I’ve been long inventing SAFE myself.
Invariably I end up with a standard unit of service:

store 1 Gb of data for 1 year

How could websites work?

• I’m an old movie lover
  • I keep them on my HDD and expose via BitTorrent

So on SAFE: I like Wikipedia so I host a portion of it.

Unsolved problem: how do I avoid political repression?

1. I think the price of storing gigabytes of data that you are never going to use ought to be high enough that you would choose not to do that… The price ought to be in line with what is expected for forever storage.

2. I don’t think farming for the sake of farming is likely to be a long term viability. Computers are on, and hard drive space and bandwidth are plentiful. People will farm because they like SAFE - not because they are going to get rich at it… Those that plan to get rich at it will likely be disappointed as most get rich quick plans turn out…

3. If you have a computer you replace it now. If you have a computer that runs SAFE you will replace that as well.

In short, I see SAFEcoin as an anti-spam deterrent more than a profit provider… Many will disagree, but investing in something that is abundant and hoping to make big profits off of it seems silly. The reward is Security, privacy, and freedom for all.

1 Like