How will MaidSafe deal with tiny files?

Hi guys,

I am not a computer expert so bear with me…

Our “computer vision” company uses Dropbox and we recently had the experience of a developer accidentally uploading his “training set” to his Dropbox folder. He basically uploaded a couple of gigabytes of tiny images. Normally with our fast internet connection, we’d eat 2 gig like candy but these tiny files threw the whole thing into chaos! It simply couldn’t deal with them, it was saying “4 days and 10 hours” to synchronize. We gave it half a day before giving up and manually deleting the files but one computer was stubborn and kept trying to upload files to the others. It was basically a big disaster.

I am wondering if MaidSafe can handle these kinds of scenarios and perhaps, the extreme example of someone malicious intentionally trying to clog the whole thing with tiny files?

IIRC (if I recall correctly) all files smaller than 1MB will be padded to reach the one megabyte minimum. Uploading a bunch of files in an attempt to clog the system as you put it will not work very well (at least when the network reaches critical mass). Safecoin will be one of a few limiting factors. The other one relevant in this scenario is that routing (a part of the system that controls how data flows throughout the network) will shift your traffic to nodes capable of handling your requests. This ensures that these small files will almost always find a home. Remember, this is a global network. Anyone with the space and bandwidth can accommodate your desire to store data. Think of your data flowing through a freeway that is instantaneously torn down and rebuilt in a different directions to prevent traffic jams.