How to prevent mass distribution of worthless Apps for profit?

Hi all, I’m new to SAFE but have read the documentation and wikis pretty thoroughly. I have a question about preventing App developers from trying to game the system. Would it be possible for an app developer to create a super basic app of no real value, and then pay people some small amount to “use it” solely for the purpose of generating safecoin reward? This would not be that different than paying people to click ads online to show that many clicks were generated, but really the clicks are of no real value since there is no chance of a sale - but the clickers would get some small fraction of the $$$ generated from the click. Is there some simple way to avoid this that I am missing?

Welcome @howevilweare to the forum

This has been discussed at length in a few topics. As you read the forum and delve into the topics you will see this question come up from time to time. I tried looking for the topic I was thinking of but alas cannot find it right now.

But it is also related to the proposed Pay the Producer and people coping content to “profit” from it.

In essence the reward is for the health of the network and to attract developers. One line of thought is that the best APP will get the followers, and so the developer has incentive to keep improving their APP.

Dunno how the App developer could earn enough to do that. Each Get the APP causes only (on average) gets a small amount. Then the APP developer has to give the users an even smaller amount. Yes it could be done but you would have to have one interesting APP for it to be worth the time & effort the developer puts into it. But yes it would work and advertising where you pay the viewers will certainly be a possibility and preferable to the current “push” advertising we now have.

3 Likes

you might find these topics of interest

2 Likes