Help making tutorial apps

Okay I want to make very simple tutorial applications, mostly for web developers and such that demonstrate how to utilize the SAFE network APIs (and for my own reference purposes given I am a web developer and designer). However I’m struggling to understand the api tutorials on the maidsafe readme site given a couple of things. 1. Examples are presented using different languages. Some are offered in json, others in nodejs. While it’s awesome to see they are compatible with multiple languages and indeed it’s reasonable that they’re all javascript derived nodejs isn’t the same as json nor is it the same as javascript. And when coding one wants to be precise. 2. There aren’t a lot of different examples for each api. Or examples of them in action.

Like one of the basic apps i want to create is a simple “Hello World” type app that simply requests the user’s public Id from the launcher and disppays it as text message “Hello “Public ID”!” Or something like that. Or add a file from the user’s SAFE drive. Like say if the user has pics on their safedrive, display one randomly or have them display in sequence below the greeting. How does one create a prompt or web interface to upload to one’s SAFE drive? I’m not trying to build a massive app here I just want to create little demo examples for each core function for future reference and have them clearly documented so anyone can learn from them and utilize them.

10 Likes

Could you elaborate on the “mixed languages” point?
From what I can see all the usage examples are nodejs and the json bits are the payloads and return values.

Which is very much to be expected since the Launcher API is a http based (although not “RESTful”) api accepting json payloads, which makes it very easy to access from any language.

(one niggle is that it’s not consistent in always returning json though (I’m looking at you OK/Unautorized/Field missing responses…)

For your example app what you want is /auth (/auth)