GUADEC lightning talk (GNOME & SAFE)

Hi everyone,

I’m a GNOME developer and recently got very interested in MaidSafe. Being a FOSS community, there has been a lot of talk about privacy and security in the GNOME community, especially after Snowden revelations. However, we still depend on online third party services to provide a connected user experience. We do like to depend only on FOSS-based services and that IMO is a good step forward, but it still doesn’t enable complete privacy and security for our users. So I think SAFE can play a big role here.

Realizing that, I submitted a lightning talk (they are a series of 4-5 minute talks) about MaidSafe to our upcoming annual conference, GUADEC. I can’t fit a lot in that time so idea is simply to introduce the project to GNOME community and get people interested/intrigued about MaidSafe. I would appreciate any or all idea about what you think I should cover in this small introduction.

If there is enough interest, I’ll try to get the conference folks get one of the MaidSafe team members invited for a keynote next year.

27 Likes

Lightning talks are here. I failed to include this link in the post cause there is some silly limit of max 2 links for new members.

Edit by @frabrunelle: I just made you a regular member instead of a basic user, so you should now be okay to post as many links as you want :smile:

5 Likes

Fantastic, this is really very good.

4 Likes

Have you seen this video?
You could do a lot worse than simply playing that at your audience and answering what questions you can and fielding the ones you cannot handle over to here.
Or summarising the contents of the video in your own words.