Getting started

Hi everyone,

I’m new to this project, but very enthusiast.
My knowledge are quite limited as a web developer (i’ve been mostly working on php/mysql + js/jquery scripts), but I can understand the essentials.
I understand that the safe network will allow everyone to share their storage and processing power.
My question is how can you get involved right now? Can anyone participate to the alpha testing?
I would love to give some of my resources to help you with the tests, and to help me understand in practice how it will work, testing the apps.
Also, as i am a web developer who’s actually working a lot with wordpress, I’m wondering if there will be ways to export a wordpress to safepress?

5 Likes

Welcome. You can definitely contribute, everyone can really. If you want to help test, first get to trust level 1 (basic user) on this forum, and then follow the instructions for starting with Test 19 here (it also includes a link about getting to trust level 1):

To visit websites in SAFEnetwork all you need is the browser. See this topic for websites that are on test 19. To upload a website you use the Web hosting manager (see the Test 19 topic above).

Regarding safepress.io there is no development activity at the moment, but you can create a static copy of a WordPress website using a plugin and upload that. This would be nice for you to try and post a ‘how to’ if you like.

7 Likes

Hi happybeing,

Thank you for your quick and very helpful answer! I will look into this this week end.
And I’d be happy to create a how to !

2 Likes

So I made some tests yesterday, but sadly, I reached the maximum operation on my account before I was able to have something working.
There were still calls to links using http protocol so everytime I was trying to access the website through the SAFE browser, it would open my firefox.
Plus, I made a mistake the first time so I had to delete and reupload all the files, which used a lot of my available operations for nothing.