ELI5 of state of progress?

Hi, I’ve been following MaidSafe for a year+ now, and am devoted to the vision of the project. But I’m not a developer, and so reading through the updates, I often get lost in the details and realize I don’t have a “big picture” understanding of where development is atm. An ELI5 would be appreciated - thanks in advance.

12 Likes

Testnets so far have shown

• Decentralised nodes with basic data types
  • Self authentication
  • Early API for developers to build decentralised apps
  • Devs already creating apps that are surprising us all with the capability.

Then moved on to show

• Autonomous network, working from homes as it should (with limitations due to security, but to show the design works)

We are now doing a large step to mutable data, this is in essence the new API we believe is more powerful and easier to use for devs. Also this includes a mechanism where users can have a single download and run app (authenticator). This is one large part of the work that is almost completed now, Already usable for devs in a local setting via mock interfaces (a dummy network if you like)

The next part is split in two

Data chains part 1 - Secure the autonomous network .

This is the options listed in the update recently, option A and option B. We did a lot of work on A and now are testing B via simulations and better definitions of the “rules” there. This part is producing resuls and we are happy enough there, but until it’s completed to our satisfaction, we will all be nervous :wink:

Data chains part 2, Record valid network data

This allows data republish by a node and is very important for network restarts, recovery of data etc. It is not as tough as part 1 as we pretty much already know how this works and have tested this with code. At least we anticipate it won’t be as hard at all.