Documentation

Hi,

I’ve been thinking about things I can realistically contribute to this project. I am no programmer, I’m not even a scripter, I can’t do UI design and I don’t know about Exchanges, or have a lot of cash to contribute to liquidity. All I can really do is what I do in my professional life: learning how to use systems, running infrastructure and writing documentation.

I might be able to contribute in these areas and I’ve spotted there isn’t a lot of documentation at the moment. Please correct me if I’m wrong but I’ve not been able to find much. The documentation I have found has been spread around forum posts. Don’t take this as any form of criticism. People have clearly been very busy. The people who know how to use it know and those who don’t yet are bright and can work it out.

I’m thinking ahead to when and when there is a comnet or frequent testnets, a pickup in activity and an influx of users who are completely new to the software. Brace yourself for a tidal wave of questions about the basics! To get value out of the participation of more people and for them to get value as well I think some clear documentation of the basics in one easy to find place would really help.

I’d like to have a shot at consolidating what others have written in forum posts into an area along with some things I’ve written for my own learning of how to deploy the system and use it.

I’m going to start with the things I think would be most useful at the moment to get people started:-

• Installation of nodes for test networks
  • Installation of Baby Fleming
  • Basics of how to work with files
  • Basics of how to work with DBCs

And I’ll shamelessly plagiarise what people have written in forum posts. Iimitation is the sincerest form of flattery and blatantly copying is the sincerest form of imitation!

Is the most appropriate place for this in here?:-

I see there is the start of a guide at:-

That @Haigha and others were working on.