Dev an app in SafeNetwork. Where to start?

Hello,

i am a young french software engineer and I discovered Maidsafe as part of my work (Blockchain Start-up). The project is pretty cool and I would like to develop an application on the safe network. Where to start ? Is there some onlines tutorials/courses for beginners ? What is possible to do currently with the safe network ?

Thank you in advance for your replies and happy new year!

8 Likes

If you go to forum.safedev.org at the top you can click on tutorials and there are explanations on how to build these example apps (webrtc, markdown editor, comments plugins, p2p email) but I highly suggest you check back here on Jan 10th!!! We will be receiving an update which will most likely showcase the new authentication flow rather than the current launcher. This will change how apps interact with the network to a more direct and granular level. There may also be a new test network to test your app(s) you decide to build on! We’ll see but it has been hinted at strongly that we may be receiving vaults from home again, so true p2p after some redesign and refactoring that took place based off from community/maidsafe testing. As for the soon to be outdated example apps/tutorials I mentioned previously, those are supposed to be updated to reflect the upcoming changes so stay tuned and welcome!

11 Likes

The are several options and which you choose will be a mix of suitability for your purpose and personal preference.

As an example, the simplest and most readily portable option is a WebApp: