Cryptoplatform Duniter & Cryptocurrency IOTA

I thought Safecoin would be first and only to deliver a scalable coin.

But today I learned that both IOTA and Duniter, the latter despite relying on the blockchain, have beat “us” (I’m a newbie here) to the bush.

This raises the question whether these two coins(’ technologies) can be integrated into Maidsafe.

I know very little about IOTA, except that it uses a directed acyclic graph and doesn’t support smart contracts.

I’m most interested into getting Duniter into Maidsafe.
Duniter provides a Universal Basic Income in cryptocurrency form to the world and it’s evident this needs to be done safely.

IOTA still relies on the coordinator (for the next year at least) and it is essentially centralised until that is turned off, it also still requires PoW and txs will never take place in less than 1 minute. It is feeless (because you do the PoW yourself) and it does indeed scale. IOTA will certainly be capable of smart contracts - ask in their slack about oracles, I’m sure someone there can fill you in better than I.

I don’t know much about Duniter.

SAFE is about much more than scalability or currency though… freedom, privacy and security, for everyone.

A resource-based economy with a burnable utility as fuel, the monetisation of spare resources, censor resistance etc. I don’t see these other projects as direct competition for SAFE: although they may be headed in similar directions and they may indeed overlap and compete more directly in future.

4 Likes

Me neither. I didn’t tag it as “Related Projects”.

My post was more about

“Look at these interesting cryptocoins.
Who would to help me putting these into MaidSafe?”

Ah ok, I thought it was more “look at these coins that beat SAFE to the punch”.

Apologies if my response missed the mark.