Can farming & Mining run parallel?

safecoin

Just wondering, the network is launched, can existing crypto miners run farming on their rig while not stopping any existing operations? If possible then it’s a huge deal!

• Miners will flock in to get additional income by providing their idle memory space.
  • YouTubers will cover this topic so basically it’s free marketing for Safenetwork.
  • Safenetwork reach will be exponential.

Based on my limited understanding, it’s only possible to mine 1 type of coin at a certain time. I’m not a techie, plz correct me if I’m wrong.

It should be possible to gpu mine and farm at the same time as farming doesn’t require gpu power. But not sure about cpu mining

You could run your mining rig and provide the SAFE Network (harddisk space, cpu and bandwidth), but it depends on the coin your mining it’s harddrive requirements.

Another underestimated source of income is registering publicIDs and later on selling them.

Hmmm I’m also not a techy, but you can merge mine. Project Decorum a SAFE Network project will also enable users to mine Clikes. https://safecrossroads.net/podcasts/episode-31-harmen-klink/

Is an interesting question - hadn’t considered this before, so good one. :slight_smile:

I’m not sure of the technical feasibility because I don’t know how large scale mining systems work. I doubt for example they keep one blockchain copy per node!

Theoretically, they could be repurposed, but my guess is that this will not be a likely outcome because farming is going to be a lower cost lower reward setup, with small margins, and I’m thinking that repurposed mining rigs will be too expensive to run.

Not too sure about large scale mining but my understanding now I individual miners setup PC with loads of graphics card. Some of them have multiple such setup at home. I guess if we market this idea properly it’ll be quite appealing to them. One idea for the marketeers in maidsafe to consider.

THough depends if the miners use USB.