Building the vault

I’m quite new to compiling my own binaries but over the last few days I gave it a try. Viv was kind to help me out a bit over PM but as I run into some new trouble I wondered if anyone could help me out.

Here’s a link with instructions. The idea is to install Rust and use the GNU compiler instead of the MSVS (microsoft visual C) as that ones gives trouble. I’m on Win 10/64. I’ve installed both requested programs and afaik my paths are right:

One of the problems that shows up while compiling is the request for DLLs. I’ve found some more info in their repo about Cargo being broken for Win64. There’s talk about a DLL I’ve seen today as well.

I’ve tried to use the nightly build as well:

After this I proceed with installation.

This is what I get after I download the Vault repo from GH and try to build the thing locally:

Here’s where it all stops:

Does anyone has a clue? A workaround? Would be cool to build the vault myself.

4 Likes

Missing VCRuntime140 normally would just point to needing to install the Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2015. Your env variables however seem a bit different to what I got for msys, just to try:

• Open up command prompt
  • try gcc --version . I’m expecting this to maybe fail with something like gcc not found
  • run set PATH=C:\msys64\mingw64\bin;C:\msys64\usr\bin;%PATH%
  • run gcc --version this should give you something like:
gcc (Rev1, Built by MSYS2 project) 5.3.0
Copyright (C) 2015 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.```

if it does, then try a `cargo clean && cargo build --release`
1 Like

Going through the instructions on my end to see what happens.

I was having trouble the other night with rust_sodium because the libsodium sight was down. Doesn’t seem to be the problem right now though.

1 Like