Building the demo-app using NodeJS/NPM

I’m new to Node.js and NPM. I installed it today on Windows 10/64. I went to GitHub and downloaded the demo-app zip and extracted it in a directory called maidsafe. I also installed NSIS and set it’s path.

I’m able to run npm install, npm start and I even created an installer for the app using npm run packcage. But when I start the demo_app the screens stays empty. I get a lot of errors using npm install. I cd to the dir where the package file is and this is what my console says:

C:\maidsafe\safe_examples-master\demo_app>npm install
npm WARN package.json @ No repository field.
npm WARN package.json @ No license field.
npm WARN optional dep failed, continuing appdmg@0.3.7
\
> nslog@3.0.0 install C:\maidsafe\safe_examples-master\demo_app\node_modules\electron-rebuild\node_modules\nslog
> node-gyp rebuild

C:\maidsafe\safe_examples-master\demo_app\node_modules\electron-rebuild\node_modules\nslog>if not defined npm_config_node_gyp (node "C:\Program Files\nodejs\node_modules\npm\bin\node-gyp-bin\\..\..\node_modules\node-gyp\bin\node-gyp.js" rebuild )  else (node "" rebuild )
    gyp ERR! configure error
    gyp ERR! stack Error: Can't find Python executable "python", you can set the PYTHON env variable.
    gyp ERR! stack     at failNoPython (C:\Program Files\nodejs\node_modules\npm\node_modules\node-gyp\lib\configure.js:401:14)
    gyp ERR! stack     at C:\Program Files\nodejs\node_modules\npm\node_modules\node-gyp\lib\configure.js:356:11
    gyp ERR! stack     at FSReqWrap.oncomplete (fs.js:82:15)
    gyp ERR! System Windows_NT 10.0.10586
    gyp ERR! command "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs\\node.exe" "C:\\Program Files\\nodejs\\node_modules\\npm\\node_modules\\node-gyp\\bin\\node-gyp.js" "rebuild"
    gyp ERR! cwd C:\maidsafe\safe_examples-master\demo_app\node_modules\electron-rebuild\node_modules\nslog
    gyp ERR! node -v v4.4.4
    gyp ERR! node-gyp -v v3.3.1
    gyp ERR! not ok
    npm ERR! Windows_NT 10.0.10586