Any thing a pen tester can help out with?

I’m new to the SAFE project. I was wondering if their was any need for pen-testers within the community. And if so, who do contact to get started ?.

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum :thumbsup:. I guess all testers and hackers are welcome to try to find weak spots in the project. @lightyear is the person to ask.

1 Like

Great Thanks !. I’m assuming he will reply on here then ?

1 Like

Hello @ifindproblems,

I suppose the starting point would to be do setup the current Alpha release and dig around? I am not sure how pen testing usually works/what kind of setup is done. I am happy to assist with specific questions though!

Hope that helps.
Ben

Ok great. just didn’t expect to get a “Do what ever you want” reply haha

7 Likes

I’m guessing that the client is basically a tunnel into the network. Are there any filters on what data can be sent through it as i don’t want any leaks into the public internet.

Hey @ifindproblems Break it! Keep breaking it! Keep breaking it till you cant!

5 Likes

roger that…

5 Likes

Ok, so data is routed through the clients of users. Which can be a mix off different operating systems ?

You should check out David Irvine’s blog at https://metaquestions.me/ It’s filled full of important information on the SAFE Network and explained by the creator himself. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Yup. There is MS and Linux. (Not sure about mac)

Also, there was couple other posters that manage to install on android tablet.

Welcome to the forums!

Is there any way i can get a detailed description of how the clients talk to each other ?

Maybe this helps…

https://github.com/maidsafe/safe_core

https://maidsafe.readme.io/

2 Likes

So what SAFE is at the moment: