About segmentation of SAFE because a country is cutoff

Hi, newbie here on the forum, but at least I have tried to absorb the documentation and FAQs.

Listening to the FAQs on youtube, there was a point raised with the situation in Egypt where their access to the world was cut off. This raised a question in my mind about farming.

It was noted in the video that the network would remain working within Egypt, albeit with a measure of inaccessible data. The question is what happens with farming and the generation of safecoins. I gather safecoins all have a unique ID (32 bits).

So if coins are generated for farming in Egypt, what is to stop the ID of those coins being the same as new coins generated in the rest of the world. And what would be the final result of this conflict if it occurred.

In other words is there a mechanism to prevent this duplication of IDs occurring?

Hi there and welcome to the forum! You start with a very good question I have no answer to :smile: I’ve seen this question on the forum once before, but no clue where to find it. Normally, when a farming-attempt is done, a group looks at the address for the Safecoin that wants to get farmed. Is there already an owner of that address (a Safecoin) than no farming is done. But when the network is in a split, I have no clue.

I think it will bring trouble to the network when a whole country goes offline. Normally, when you’re running your client, your part of groups with 32 nodes. They’re all over the world. So if your in Egypt, and they cut themselves off the rest of the internet, you can’t reach your nodes in these groups. I think that the client will be in trouble.